Styling new looks with old clothes – the touch of winter grass

“A cool winter morning, dawn
gently approaching the doorstep, when
I set to the open
surprised, to see my lawn, turn
into a bed of silvery droplets, shine
like glittering pearls under the golden sun.”

                                                            Grass – Poem by Susanta Pattnayak

Coming back to northern Italy from a week’s stay in the sunny blue coast of southern France , it would require some serious time to adjust to the grey sky and chilly temperature here.

Winter sale just started but I know clearly how many clothes are just sleeping in my closet without being worn even once this winter. This is the reason why it starts the daily recording of my winter styling for the entire January in 2016.

Green is never the main stream colour for the winter fashion in Italy, but I could use it to “shine like glittering pearls under the golden sun”.

IMG_9658

Light green wool coat: bought in Shanghai in 2004

Zara green velvet pants: bought in Italy in 2012

Light green ankle boots: bought in Italy in 2012

Green vintage purse: bought in Antibes in 2011

Andrea Maurice cashmere beige sweater: bought in Italy in 2014 winter

Floral scarf: bought in Italy in 2014 winter

IMG_9662IMG_9686IMG_9680IMG_9687

This scarf is one of my favourites. The pattens on both sides are in different colours so I can match with different clothes. This green side is an entire piece of traditional Chinese painting, with pink lotus flowers and green leaves. Big and warm, it is my best friend in winter.

IMG_9698

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment